Friday, April 6, 2012

What I'm Reading

This wonderful book by Gary Chapman is one of my favorites.
In it he shares the 5 love languages of children which are:
  • physical touch
  • words of affirmation
  • quality time
  • gifts
  • acts of service

"Every child has a primary language of love, a way in which he or she understands a parent's love best.

The 5 Love Languages of Children will introduce you to all five love languages of children and help you determine the primary languages in which your child hears your love."

-Gary Chapman

So how does this look for my own children?

My oldest son's love language is words of affirmation. This means that the way he receives my love best is through words of encouragement, compliments, and sometimes just through conversations.

My middle son's love language is physical touch. This means that the way he receives love best from me is through hugs, a pat on the back, and sometimes just cuddling on the couch.

My youngest son's love language is quality time. That means that the way he receives love from me best is by spending time together reading a book, family dinners, and sometimes watching him play video games.

This book is a wonderful resource for parents and for those who serve in children's ministry as well. I see all 5 of these love languages represented in the girls I lead in small group each week. Knowing and recognizing their love languages helps me in building relationships with them.

You can purchase the book here:

You can also follow the author here:

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...